Measured Optimism for the Caps

I’ve experienced more pre-season hype, regular season glory, and post season disappointment with the Washington Capitals than I care to share.  After being outclassed by Tampa Bay in the second round of last spring’s playoffs I just moved on.  Talk of super talented young guns and a solid core group of players was for someone else’s conversation.  Don’t take this the wrong way because I’ll still be in my seat cheering them on this year, it’s just that my expectations and hopes for the Caps took another in a series of season ending beatings.

My hiatus was interrupted when I lifted an eyebrow towards the Caps in early July when free agent players hit the open market.  GM George McPhee made a number of solid acquisitions combined with re-signing existing talent that few would argue make the Caps a better, more mature hockey team.

These offseason personal moves combined with veteran players showing up early for training camp talking about heightened commitments to conditioning and team attitude is encouraging, but not overly so.  This year I need more than just preseason talk; I need to see how this talk translates on the ice.

I usually greet the early fall and impending hockey season with enthusiasm for what’s to come, but for this year’s Caps it’s more measured optimism.

Related Story from the WP Capitals Insider:

Alex Ovechkin returns to Washington

Leave a Reply

